I have toasty feet.

And why would that be, might you ask?

Well, I have finished my very first pair of socks! πŸ˜€

(Also, let it be known that it is not easy to take photos of one’s own feet on one’s desk chair without falling over onto one’s derriere, especially when one is as excited as I am!)

I used the toe-up short row toe and heel pattern/recipe from Wendyknits (which can be found here). The yarn was left over from the Clapotis I made for my mom a while back, it’s about a DK weight wool, hand painted, I think the brand was Fibretrends or something, I lost the band a long time ago. I knitted them on 2.75 bamboo DPNs, one of which I bent the ever loving crap out of trying to knit wraps together on the short rows. Dude, I am so using the pointiest needles I can find for the next pair of socks.


The heel wasn’t perfect on this one, there’s a little hole, but the fit is great. I actually made this sock second, it fits better than the first one.


I was afraid it would be too small around the ankle so I increased… and it’s a bit too big around the ankle. The heel looks better on this one though, to my eye anyway.

So, my first pair of toasty, lovely bedsocks, and I’m already scouting around for a pattern for my next pair πŸ™‚ The addiction has begun.

~ by palopinto on July 30, 2007.

4 Responses to “I have toasty feet.”

  1. Welcome to total sock addiction! πŸ˜‰

  2. SOCKS!!!! πŸ™‚ Hee! I brought my toe-bag to work today so I can (hopefully) knit a few more rounds on it.

  3. nice socks! i have a passion for socks too, but i suffer from one-sock-itis [and one-mitten-itis for that case too]. i get the first one done, but the second…it is just so much more interesting to start a new project.

  4. Oh, what lovely socks!! They look great, especially as they are your first pair!! (I was in The Ravelry and intrigued by your Cardigan post. I really like cardigans!!!)

Leave a Reply

 
