Cardigans are fun to knit.

I’ve started K’s Christmas Cardigan. It’s a pattern from the Paton’s Shadow Tweed book. She picked it out while she was visiting, and being the sort of crazy cat that I am, I took the pattern and promptly changed the hell out of it 🙂

It’s a fairly simple cardi – ribbed around the hips and sleeves, a wide ribbed collar, toggles for buttons and a belt. Most of it is knitted in stockinette, and because I can’t stand making another stockinette cardigan (see earlier rants about Sesame), I’ve decided to add loads of cables. I like the simple 6 stitch rope cable, and it looks amazing in this yarn – the cables pop really nicely. I’m really enjoying this knit thus far.

I will probably need to block fairly aggressively, as the cables are pulling the width in a fair bit more than I expected (I knew they would pull it in a little, but not this much), but it should be OK. I can highly recommend this yarn, it’s soft and lovely and the color changes are really pretty.

In non-knitting news, P and I saw Tori Amos last night, on her American Doll Posse tour. My goodness, that tiny gal can certainly sing. Her shows do not disappoint. I’m not sure what was up with the discoball jumpsuit with one sleeve… nevertheless, she will always be one of my favorite musicians.

We had my 9 year old nephew’s birthday celebrations yesterday – his mother made him a “sorting hat” cake with an edible sugar icing picture of Harry Potter on it, which was a big hit. I gave him the Hogwart’s Student Diary (18 month planner) and a fantasy cartooning kit (which he already had, le sigh). He’s got a bit of a crush on Hermione Granger, and was very embarrassed to discover that they share a birthday! If I ever finish any of my current knitting projects, I will be knitting him a Quiddich jumper in Gryffindor colors. We also gave P’s brother and father their birthday gifts (EVERYONE’s birthday is in September, it’s insane) and we found out P’s brother is soon moving to Maleny with his girlfriend and her two children. I love Maleny, so having a good excuse to go up there… awesomeness! 🙂

~ by palopinto on September 24, 2007.

2 Responses to “Cardigans are fun to knit.”

  1. Now, the big question is whether or not said cardigan will make it to Texas in time for the “cold weather season”?? 😉

  2. Heh, that’s the idea… I want to get it there by Christmas (even if none of the other Christmas stuff gets sent on time). 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
