Corn yarn?!

Yes, once again I have indulged my fondness for unusual yarn concoctions, and purchased a few balls of Corn from Moda Vera (purchased from Spotlight).

This is a fingering-ish weight, woven yarn made from 100% corn. Weird, I know. And we all remember my run-in with banana yarn (ICKYUCKBLECH), so you’d think I’d learned my lesson, right?

Well, I was pleasantly surprised with this yarn. It’s reasonably stiff to begin with, and not the nicest yarn in the world on the hands (a bit litke kitchen cotton until it’s washed – inflexible and a little rough). I decided to knit a washcloth with it, I’ll knit a cloth for each girl in the family for Christmas and gift it along with a nice little soap or shower gel and a pretty dish to match (idea stolen from K – which I still think was really nice work!).


I love bamboo circulars.


Such a pretty color!

It’s a simple eyelet rib pattern, with a K2 border around the edges. I’m really happy with how it turned out. I’ll wash it tomorrow and see how it comes out, might block it properly after washing and see if the eyelets are a little more obvious. I still love kitchen cotton, but I also love corn yarn.

The tea cosy is also coming along nicely… but no spoilers, just in case 😉

The only other activity in my life at the moment is decking – we’re so very close to finishing this damn thing. I can’t wait to be able to use the deck! We’ve got most of the decking down, next is the handrail (otherwise known as beer shelf), some stainless steel wire to string between the posts, then a little decking oil et voila! So exciting. Once the deck is done and the tank is full, I can start planting out my garden and get the kitchen remodelled. Le sigh… it never ends, does it? 😉

~ by palopinto on November 19, 2007.

One Response to “Corn yarn?!”

  1. Corn yarn! So cool! 🙂

    Can’t wait to see the finished product of deckland! It’s going to be amazing when it’s complete. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
