Isaac Asimov Harley Squab Purvis.

I don’t know why I felt like posting this photo, or talking about this topic.

Isaac was my pup. I bought him from a woman who was selling puppies on the side of the road outside the Kroger parking lot on 1960 in Humble, TX, near the end of my senior year of high school. This was before Humble was built up to the point it is now, and every weekend you’d have a stretch of people setting out these chicken wire enclosures full of the unwanted results of clandestine meetings between neighbourhood dogs. You never knew what cross breeds you were going to come across – all kinds of things.

One day we stopped to look at a bunch of collieXchow chow puppies. Holy moses, were these guys cute. I mean they were all kinds of cute. One in particular, who had a fat little round belly and a raccoon mask around his eyes caught my attention, and I just couldn’t physically put him down. We bought him for ten dollars.

I cannot tell you what a great investment that was.

Isaac was not the brightest bulb in the chandelier, but he was so sweet, so affectionate. He loved a tummy rub, hated flea spray and the vacuum, and was impossible to walk on a lead because EVERYTHING WAS JUST SO INTERESTING!!!

I think he was a ripe old ten years old when we finally had to put him to sleep, because he had bone cancer and would have been in a world of pain, but according to my parents (who kept him when I moved to Australia), he never showed it and was his sweet little loverdog self up to the very end.

Ziccy, you were a sweetie. I love you.

~ by palopinto on November 22, 2007.

One Response to “Isaac Asimov Harley Squab Purvis.”

  1. *sniff sniff* I miss ‘Zicky. 😦

    HUGE hugs to Tessa from her “Auntie K”.

Leave a Reply

 
