Bloody yarn…

No, really – it’s called Bruised Bloodwood, and I think it’s now my favourite colour in the world.

I’ve been playing around on Ravelry a hell of a lot lately, and before I start carrying on about how that place is basically crack for knitters, it really has been a good resource for inspiration.

I found an Aussie dyer with an Etsy shop called Yarncakes, and while browsing her shop came across one of the most beautiful colourways I have ever seen. I knew immediately that this yarn would be perfect for Jeanie from Knitty. Of course, I’m going to need about 500g of this stuff, and the skein she had for sale was only 100g, so I contacted her to see what we could do.

Not only was she happy to do a special order for me, but she sent me some samples to play with to help me decide!

The original yarn is a sock weight merino, which I love, but she also mentioned that she could do a baby alpaca yarn in the same colourway. Faced with options (sometimes I hate options, ya know?), I wasn’t sure which to choose, so she sent me a colour card with a bit of the merino attached and a big ole chunk of the alpaca to swatch. I had a bit of a fiddle with the alpaca but decided that the cables didn’t “pop” enough. As nice as it feels, and as beautiful as it is, I just don’t think it’s right for this project. It’s also a finer yarn, so gauge would have been an issue. Seeing as the intended pattern is a wrap, gauge is not as important as if it was a sweater or something, but I didn’t want it to end up Barbie-sized.

So I decided to wash the sample of the merino to see what it would do – after all, I would have to block this project (I don’t do a lot of blocking) and I wouldn’t want the wonderful squishiness of the merino to vanish after it gets a bit wet. Washed… and huge amounts of dye came out! OMG! It also seemed to lose a lot of texture, I was a little worried but after it dried fully, it seems to have sprung back pretty well. The colour doesn’t seem to have been affected by the bleeding either.

So, top marks to Donni from Yarncakes for both product and service, and I can’t wait to get my bloody yarn šŸ™‚

~ by palopinto on December 14, 2007.

2 Responses to “Bloody yarn…”

  1. I love ravelry! I also love that colourway too…….

  2. I have packaged it all up – it’s going overnight express to you on Monday – so you should have it by Tuesday….thanks so much for your patience (and order)…..

Leave a Reply

 
