Blather…

Finally recovering from that mutant flu. Turns out that because I was so wiped from the flu and being up the duff, that a lovely secondary infection set in and I had to be treated with antibiotics. I’m not a huge fan of antibiotics at the best of times, let alone when I’m responsible for what enters the bloodstream of another person, but at least I’m on the mend and can finally get a bit of rest.

I’ve also started maternity leave (WOOOOOOHOOOOO!!!!!) which I’m totally excited about, although I start it on my own because P has gone on the Cycle Queensland tour without me 😦 I’m jealous. This year it’s Bundaberg to Brisbane, which would have allowed for some gorgeous seaside scenery, but I can’t even reach the handlebars on a bike, let alone ride one for more than 500km 😉 So I’m slobbing around the house on my own this week. Didn’t do much of anything useful today except a couple loads of laundry, but considering how tired I am, I consider that a win.

In an update to the last post about my Ravelympics sweater… I washed her today in Soak and some pretty warm water, hoping to shrink her down a little. BZZZZT! Wrong! She’s grown. A lot. I mean a lot lot. I’m thinking that I will probably have to either A. give her away as a gift to someone a hell of a lot bigger than me or B. actually attempt to shrink her in the washing machine. She’s still gorgeous, and I love the pattern and the yarn, but I don’t think they were a good match.

I’m now working on the pattern for the cabled gauntlets I knitted for my sister-in-law. I didn’t take any notes when I knitted them, and I wrote the pattern out from memory – funnily enough, there were errors! I can hardly believe it. But this time around they’re coming up nicely, and my girl K is test knitting them as well. I hope to add the pattern as a free Ravelry download at some point. I’ve also got the second sock of a pair and some almost finished baby pants to do, then I think I am actually down to zero works in progress! I had never been a monogamous knitter before, but I’m enjoying the fact that by only working on one project at a time to completion, I actually complete stuff. Who knew? 😉

~ by palopinto on August 30, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
