We have… cat vomit.

Ok, so I mentioned in the previous post that I wanted to start playing with my spindle again. Well, I got all excited and decided to have a go without getting any hands-on instruction.

Allow me to introduce you to Cat Vomit, the ugliest handspun yarn, EVAR. 😉

This was the fibre provided with the el cheapo spindle I bought off eBay a while back. As you can see, it’s not exactly even, lovely yarn. I’m not even sure if you can call that yarn.

I read somewhere that you’re supposed to wash or wet it, then whack it against the sink or tub so the twist sets. I did that… and it’s still pretty crappy looking.

That being said… it is my very first handspun, and I lurve it. I think.

I might ask P to drive me to the guild on Wednesday night… I think I need a few pointers 😉

~ by palopinto on October 5, 2008.

3 Responses to “We have… cat vomit.”

  1. Hey palopinto, I just chanced by your blog 😀 wanted to point you towards youtube for some drop spindling tutes, I found they helped somewhat and are better than nothing. http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=7gXTWgMeMgI and http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=drXid5cT0y8 ! 🙂 Making your own yarn is an awesome feeling!

  2. Hey man, that is def yarn! I have seen waaaay worse anyway. I think you’ll find it looks pretty good if you knit it up.

    Hope you can come on Wednesday, we’ll fix ya 🙂

  3. Cat Vomit????

    Oh it’s not nearly chunky and moist enough to be cat vomit!

Leave a Reply

 
